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ADMINISTRATIVE INTERPRETATION NO. 1.202-9401

PAWNBROKERS WHO DO NOT TAKE PHYSICAL POSSESSION AND DELIVERY OF
TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY, INCLUDING AUTOMOBILES, DO NOT QUALIFY
.FOR EXEMPTION FROM THE COLORADO UNIFORM CONSUMER CREDIT CODE AND
MUST COMPLY WITH ITS LICENSURE PROVISIONS AND RESTRICTIONS ON FEES
AND CHARGES.

A qguestion has arisen concerning a relatively new practice
among pawnbrokers. Pawnbrokers advance funds for a fee similar to

interest. However, unlike other lenders, they take physical
possession of collateral to secure the 1oan rather than only a
security interest in the property. The fee amounts charged by
licensed pawnbrokers and disclosure of those fees are exempt from
the Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code ("UCCC"). Section 5-1-
202(4), C.R.S. (1992). Instead, the fees and the licensing
provisions applicable to pawnbrokers are set forth in § 12-56-101
et seq.?

! Colorado’s UCCC is based on the 1968 draft of the Uniform
Consumer Credit Code from the National  Conference of Commissioners
on Uniform State Laws. The 1974 draft modified that section by
giving the administrator authority to enforce the Truth in Lending
Act’s disclosure requirements against pawnbrokers. Section
1.202(5) and comment, 1974 draft. Colorado did not adopt the 1974
provision. Pawnbrokers are not exempt from the federal Truth in
Lending Act and its requirement of disclosure of the cost of credit
(annual percentage rate, finance charge, etc.), nor has the Federal
Reserve Board exempted pawnbrokers from these disclosures. 15
U.S.C. §8 1604 & 1605(a).

> Licensing of pawnbrokers is left to municipalities, cities
and counties who may, but need not, implement licensure. Sections
12-56-101(5) and 12-56-102, C.R.S. (1991). The fee a pawnbroker
may charge is 10% per month if the money advanced is $50 or more
and 20% per month if the money advanced is less than $50. Sections
12-56-101(1) and (2), C.R.S. (1991). Violations of the pawnbroker
statutes are misdemeanors, or felonies if repeated, subject to



Several years ago, pawnbrokers in Colorado began accepting
automobiles in pawn transactions. This practice is apparently
acceptable unless prohibited by local licensing requirements. A
motor vehicle dealer license is probably required in the event the
pawn transaction is not cancelled, i.e., the automobile is not
redeemed. It has come to the Administrator’s attention that some
pawnbrokers are now conducting "auto pawn" or "title pawn"
transactions without retaining the automobile. These transactions
may not be pawns at all, but rather secured loans. If this is so,
certain terms and disclosures related to these secured loans may
not be in compliance with the UCCC. This administrative interpre-
tation addresses the Administrator’s position in reference to these
particular transactions.

The typical auto pawn transaction is structured as follows.
The pawnbroker advertises that he will loan money against an
automobile title. The consumer brings in a car owned free and
clear and is usually given the option of either leaving the car
with the pawnbroker or simply leaving the title and paying some
form of rent in exchange for retaining possession of the car. Not
surprisingly, most consumers opt to retain possession of their
automobiles. The rental fee may be referred to as anything from
"storage costs" (even though the car is not being stored) to a "use
charge" or "rent."

The consumer signs a pawn agreement which sets forth the
specific terms of the transaction. In addition, the pawnbroker may
have the consumer execute a security agreement pursuant to Article
9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. The pawnbroker may record his
security interest on the certificate of title or he may have the
consumer sign the title in blank as seller or execute a power of
attorney in his favor. Generally, the consumer will be required by
the pawn agreement to maintain insurance on the vehicle and to list
the pawnbroker as loss payee. Often the pawnbroker will keep a
photograph of the vehicle on file. The security agreement will
allow for repossession of the vehicle upon default.

The pawn agreement is drafted as a typical "contract for
purchase" as defined by § 12-56-101(1), C.R.S. (1991). However, as
stated previously, the consumer may simply deliver the title to his

prosecution by the various district attorneys. Section 12-56-104,
C.R.S. (1991).

An interesting situation arises since licensing is permissive
rather than mandatory. "Local licensing authorities may license
pawnbrokers and require that pawnbrokers be bonded and insured and
may enact regulations governing pawnbrokers..." Section 12-56-102,
C.R.S. (1991) (emphasis added). A number of municipalities and
counties have not implemented licensure. Consequently, the UCCC
exemption, applicable only to "licensed pawnbrokers," does not
apply in such areas and these pawnbrokers must comply with the UCCC
including its rates and supervised lender licensing.
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car to the pawnbroker rather than the vehicle itself. The
agreement sets a fixed price to cancel the contract within a
specific period of time. By statute, the fee of 10% per month of
the purchase price (the amount advanced to the consumer) may be
imposed for a period not to exceed ninety days. Section 12-56-101-
(2) (a), C.R.S8. (1991). In addition to the customary 10% charge,
the Administrator has seen a variety of other charges including
rent, depreciation fees and credit disability insurance. It is
questionable whether any fee in addition to the 10% charge is
permitted under the pawnbroker statutes. Due to such fees,
however, monthly payments may more than double the allowable 10%
with no reduction in the principal obligation. Again, whether or
not permissible by law, some pawn transactions are rewritten or
extended in practice for additional ninety day periods.

The question presented is whether the typical auto pawn
transaction described above can be characterized as a pawn or
whether it should be more accurately characterized as a loan. The
guestion arises due to the fact that the consumer retains posses-
sion of the automobile itself. The pawnbroker statute defines a
"contract for purchase" as "a contract entered into between a pawn-
broker and a customer pursuant to which money is advanced to the
customer by the pawnbroker on the delivery of tangible personal
property by the customer on the condition that the customer, for a
fixed price and within a fixed period of time, not to exceed ninety
days, has the option to cancel said contract." Section 12-56-
101(1), C.R.S. (1991) (emphasis added). Therefore, the initial
guestion to be addressed is whether the certificate of title given
to the pawnbroker is "tangible personal property."

"Tangible personal property" is defined in the pawnbroker
statutes as "all personal property other than chooses in action,
securities, or printéed evidences of indebtedness, which property is
deposited with or otherwise actually delivered into the possession
of a pawnbroker in the course of his business in connection with a

contract for purchase or purchase transaction." Section 12-56-
101(9), C.R.S. (1991). "Tangible property is that which is capable
of being handled, touched, or physically possessed." Hommel v.
George, 802 P.2d 1156, 1157 (Colo. App. 1990). It may be either
real or personal. BLack’s Law DICTIONARY 1306 (5th ed. 1979).

Personal property is generally all property other than real estate.
Id. at 109e6.

According to Black’'s Law Dictionary, tangible personal
property is "[plroperty such as a chair or watch which may be
touched or felt in contrast to a contract. [It is al [tlerm
commonly used in statutes which provide for taxation of personal
property." Id. at 1306. A certificate of title is not subject to
personal property taxes. It is a document which reflects ownership
of personal property. It has no intrinsic value in and of itself.
Floyd v. Title Exchange and Pawn of Anniston,- Inc., 620 So.2d 576,
578 (Ala. 1993) (holding that an automobile title is not a chose in
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action but that it is questionable whether an automobile title is
tangible personal property). Clearly, a certificate of title is
not tangible personal property (other than as a piece of paper) but
is merely representative of tangible personal property.

Assuming arguendo that a certificate of title is tangible
personal property, the question remains whether it is a chose in
action, a security or a printed evidence of indebtedness and thus
exempted from the class of personal property which may be the
subject of a pawn transaction. A certificate of title is prima
facie evidence of all matters therein contained and that the person
in whose name the certificate is registered is the lawful owner of
the vehicle therein described. Section 42-6-107(2), C.R.S. The
information contained in a certificate of title includes among
other things the make and model of the motor vehicle, its serial
number and a description of every lien and encumbrance to which the
motor vehicle is subject. One of the purposes behind the Certif-
icate of Title Act is to provide a means by which prior interests
can be ascertained and protected. Sifuentes v. Weed, 525 P.2d 1157
(Colo. 1974).

Given this definition of a certificate of title, a title is
arguably a printed evidence of indebtedness when it is held by
someone other than the person in whose name the wvehicle is
registered and who is in possession of the vehicle. This argument
is especially convincing when the holder of the title has recorded
his lien or the registered owner has signed off as seller in blank.
If the registered owner has executed a power of attorney in favor
of the holder then the two documents, the certificate of title and
the power of attorney, taken together are evidence of indebtedness.
Therefore, in the case of an "auto-pawn" transaction as previously
described, the certificate of title will reflect to any interested
third party that the automobile is encumbered by the debt to the
pawnbroker.

If a certificate of title is evidence of indebtedness, it is
explicitly excluded from the definition of "tangible personal
property" in § 12-56-101(9), C.R.S. (1991). Consequently, a
pawnbroker who takes possession of a certificate of title in ex-
change for advancing funds to the consumer is not engaging in bona
fide pawnbroking activity as defined by § 12-56-101, C.R.S. (1991).
See Pendleton v. American Title Brokers, Inc., 754 F. Supp. 860
(§.D. Ala. 1991) (holding that lender engaged in leasing cars back
to borrowers after he obtained a security interest was not a "bona
fide pawnbroker" and, therefore, was required by the Alabama Small
Loan Act to have a license). Thus "auto-pawn" transactions de-
scribed above are more accurately loans collateralized by automo-
biles.

In concluding that these auto pawn transactions are loans,
serious concerns arise regarding compliance with consumer credit
laws. If the amounts advanced are less than $25,000 and made to
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individuals primarily for personal, family or household purposes,
they fit the definition of a consumer loan under § 5-3-104, C.R.S.
(1992) and are subject to regulation under the Colorado Uniform
Consumer Credit Code. The UCCC regulates, among other things, the
maximum interest rates that can be charged on a consumer loan,
limitations on additional charges, the ability to repossess an
automobile on default without one right to cure, and the standard
disclosures that must be made to the consumer in connection with
the extension of credit.

The most serious concern in regard to these "auto-pawn"
transactions is that the effective annual percentage rate (A.P.R.)
is often in excess of 200%, well above the ceilings allowed by the

uccc. In arriving at this figure, all charges are taken into
account including the ten percent monthly fee and the other rental
costs. Under the UCCC, supervised lenders® are permitted to

receive a finance charge not in excess of 36% per year on unpaid
balances of $630 or less; 21% per year on unpaid balances greater
than $630 but less than or equal to $2,100; and 15% per year on
unpaid balances greater than $2,100; or, alternatively 21% per
year. Aside from violating the UCCC, a 200% A.P.R. is a criminally
usurious rate under § 18-15-104, C.R.S. (1986 & 1994 Supp). The
Administrator is aware of at least two criminal usury cases filed
by district attorney offices against auto pawnbrokers.

It is the position of the Administrator of the Colorado
Uniform Consumer Credit Code that "auto-pawn" transactions are in
fact secured loans when the pawnbroker does not retain possession
of the vehicle. 1In instances where these loans fit the definition
of a consumer loan under § 5-3-104, C.R.S. (1992), compliance with
the UCCC is mandatory. This includes the disclosures required by

the UCCC and the Federal Truth in Lending Act. In addition,
lenders charging in excess of 12% per year on consumer debt must be
licensed by the Administrator. If licensed pawnbrokers take

physical possession of the automobiles in these transactions, the

UCCC does not apply.

LAURA E. UDIS
Administrator
Uniform Consumer Credit Code
(303)866-4494

3 A supervised loan is loan on which the finance charge is

in excess of 12% per year. Supervised lenders must be licensed by
the Administrator of the UCCC. Sections 5-3-501 and 5-3-503,
C.R.S. (1992).



